Awards & Honors Committees

ALISE Award for Professional Contribution to Library and Information Science Education

Terms of Reference:

a. Select the recipient of the ALISE Award for Professional Contribution based on criteria specified in the ALISE policy manual

Minimum Expectations:

  1. Select the recipient of the annual ALISE Award for Professional Contribution based on criteria specified in the ALISE policy manual

  2. Notify the recipient, including the benefits of the award

  3. Document procedures for guidance of future chairs

Chair: Keren Dali - University of Calgary - keren.dali@alumni.utoronto.ca

Members:

Fei Shu - McGill University - fei.shu@mail.mcgill.ca

Athena Salaba - Kent State University - asalaba@kent.edu

Tom Walker - Long Island University - Thomas.Walker@liu.edu

Sandra Valenti - Emporia State University - svalenti@emporia.edu

Board liaison: Celcilia Salvatore - Domincan University - csalvatore@dom.edu


The LJ/ALISE Excellence in Teaching Award (combines the ALISE Award for Teaching Excellence and the LJ Teaching Award)

Terms of Reference:

a.     Select the recipient of the LJ/ALISE Excellence in Teaching Award based on criteria specified in the ALISE policy manual

Minimum Expectations:

1.     Nominations will be reviewed by a panel of five judges made up of 2 members appointed by Library Journal, a representative from ProQuest, and two members appointed by the Executive Committee of the ALISE Board.

2.     Select the recipient of the annual ALISE Award for Teaching Excellence based on criteria specified in the ALISE policy manual.  LJ notifies the recipient, including benefits of the award, in coordination with ALISE

3.     Document procedures for guidance of future chairs 

Members:

Rajesh Singh - St. John's University - singhr1@stjohns.edu

Cindy Welch - University of Tennessee - cwelch2@gmail.com

Board liaison: Celcilia Salvatore - Domincan University - csalvatore@dom.edu


 ALISE / Pratt-Severn Faculty Innovation Award

Terms of Reference:

a. Select the recipient of the ALISE/ Pratt-Severn Faculty Innovation Award based on criteria specified in the ALISE policy manual

 Minimum Expectations:

  1. Select the recipient of the annual ALISE/ Pratt-Severn Faculty Innovation Award based on criteria specified in the ALISE policy manual
  2. Notify the recipient, including benefits of the award
  3. Document procedures for guidance of future chairs

Chair: Irene Lopatovka - Pratt -  ilopatov@pratt.edu

 Members:

Colin Rhinesmith - Simmons College - crhinesmith@simmons.edu

Timothy Dickey - Kent State - tdickey1@kent.edu

Kim Sung Un - Catholic University of America - kimi@cua.edu

Ana Ndumu - Florida State University - avg05d@my.fsu.edu

Board liaison: Celcilia Salvatore - Domincan University - csalvatore@dom.edu


 ALISE Award for Service

 Terms of Reference:

a. Select the recipient of the ALISE Service Award based on criteria specified in the ALISE policy manual

 Minimum Expectations:

  1. Select the recipient of the annual ALISE Service Award based on criteria specified in the ALISE policy manual
  2. Notify recipient, including benefits of award
  3. Document procedures for guidance of future chairs

Chair:  Lisa Daulby - San Jose State University - daulby@sympatico.ca

 Members:

Donald Force - University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee - force@uwm.edu

JungWon Yoon - University of South Florida - jyoon@usf.edu

Nicole Alemanne - Valdosta State University - ndalemanne@valdosta.edu

Melissa Fraser-Arnott - Library of Parliament - melissa.a.fraser@gmail.com

Board liaison: Celcilia Salvatore - Domincan University - csalvatore@dom.edu


 ALISE/Norman Horrocks Leadership Award

 Terms of Reference:

a. Select the recipient of the ALISE Norman Horrocks Leadership Award based on criteria specified in the ALISE policy manual

 Minimum Expectations:

  1. Select the recipient of the annual ALISE/Norman Horrocks Leadership Award based on criteria specified in the ALISE policy manual
  2. Notify recipient, including benefits of the award
  3. Document procedures for guidance of future chairs

Chair: Sean Burns - University of Kentucky - sean.burns@uky.edu

Members:

Kyong Eun Oh - Simmons College - kyongeun.oh@simmons.edu

Ying-Hsang Liu - Charles Stuart University - yingliu@csu.edu.au

Hassan Zamir - Dominican University - mzamir@dom.edu

Rachel Clarke - Syracuse University - rclark01@syr.edu

Board liaison: Celcilia Salvatore - Domincan University - csalvatore@dom.edu

Charley Seavey, Arizona (2011)