Library Journal / ALISE Excellence in Teaching Award

Library Journal (LJ) / ALISE Excellence in Teaching Award, sponsored by Rowman & Littlefield, recognizes excellence in educating the next generation of library and information professionals. This annual award, merges the two teaching awards previously presented by ALISE and LJ, and honors the winning LIS educator with a complimentary annual ALISE membership and registration to the ALISE annual conference, a celebration at the ALISE annual conference, an article in LJ in the November 15 issue, and a $3,000 prize.

This partnership between Library Journal and ALISE affirms our commitment to the importance of innovation and critical student-centered thinking in the education of the next generation of library and information professionals.  The first award was presented in 2015 at the ALISE Centennial Conference, and replaces the ALISE Award for Teaching Excellence in the Field of Library and Information Science Education (1993-2014).

Sponsored by Rowman & Littlefield

Chair and LJ Liaison/Representative:

Rebecca Miller -

Jury Members:

ALISE Representative #1: Linda Gann, North Carolina – Greensboro (2016) 
ALISE Representative #2: Clayton Copeland, South Carolina (2018)
Library Journal Representative #1: Paul Jaeger, Maryland
Library Journal Representative #2: Rebecca T. Miller
Rowan & Littlefield Representative: Charles Harmon

Board Liaison (2015):

Lauri Bonnici, Director of Membership Services

Winnner Responsibilities:

The award winner is expected to participate in an ALISE presentation, a webinar, and service on the following year’s Award Committee. The winner will be asked to present on cutting-edge issues in library education at the ALISE Annual Conference as part of the award. 

Previous Winners:
2016 - Patricia Galloway, University of Texas at Austin
2015 - Paul Jaeger, University of Maryland

Nominations Guidelines >>