ALISE Excellence in Teaching Award

The ALISE Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes excellence in educating the next generation of library and information professionals. In 2023, this award become eligible to Early Career and Senior Faculty, now offering two awards each year.  The winning LIS educators will receive a complimentary annual ALISE membership and registration to the ALISE annual conference.


Kim Thompson, University of South Carolina

Jury Members

Denise Agosto, Drexel University
John Burgess, The University of Alabama
GoUn Kim, Rutgers University
Sue Yeon Syn, Catholic University of America

Board Liaison

Daniella Smith, University of North Texas, Director, Membership

2024 Sponsor

 Interested in sponsoring the ALISE Excellence in Teaching Award? Click here to view the 2024 prospectus and claim your sponsorship!

Award Criteria

  • Illustrates student-centered thinking in all aspects of teaching
  • Contributions to curriculum design which demonstrate subject expertise and the ability to integrate new developments in library and information science
  • Has track record as a career builder: is a mentor and recognizes relationship to students can be career-long
  • Communicates the core principles of the library and information profession, such as intellectual freedom, privacy, and a belief in the value of libraries and information work
  • Effectively integrates theory, practice, research, and innovative teaching methods, infusing teaching with real-life library and information practice
  • Is forward thinking: keeps up with cutting-edge issues in the profession and in teaching, including those dealing with technology and its uses in the library field.


Anyone who has taught a course at an ALISE-member program or at an ALA-accredited master’s program since Fall 2015, as full-time faculty or as an adjunct, is eligible.

Nominations Requirements

  • Students or recent graduates and faculty members are encouraged to nominate candidates. Students must have taken a class from the nominee within the past two years.
  • Candidates will be evaluated primarily on the basis of the nominating letter (no more than two pages in length or email equivalent), and nominators are welcome to submit letters of support and supplementary material (examples of coursework, CV, etc.) for the judges to consider.

Winner Responsibilities

The award winner is expected to participate in an ALISE presentation, a webinar, and service on the following year’s Award Committee. The winner will be asked to present on cutting edge issues in library education at the ALISE conference as part of the award. 

Submission Process

All submissions must be completed through the ALISE 2024 submission system

*First-time users will be required to create an account (separate from your account). Once created, return to the ALISE '24 submission page to log in. Once logged in, select 'Enter as an author'. Select the relevant track for your submission, ensuring you review all requirements prior to completing your submission.

Submission Deadline

March 25, 2024

Committee Membership

  • The Committee consists of five members. 
  • Three ALISE members (selected by the President-Elect).
  • The prior years' award recipient.
  • Members serve for two years.
  • The Chair holds this position for one year.
  • The Committee reports to the Director of Membership Service
Previous Winners:
- Beth Patin, Syracuse University (Early Career)
- Edward Benoit III, Louisiana State University (Senior Faculty)
- Shari Lee, St. John's University (Senior Faculty)
2022- Lisa Hussey, Simmons University
- Beth Brendler, University of Missouri - Columbia
2020- Rachel Fleming-May, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
2019- Nicole Cooke, University of South Carolina
2018- Renee Hill, University of Maryland
2017- Jenna Hartel, University of Toronto
2016- Patricia Galloway, University of Texas at Austin
2015- Paul Jaeger, University of Maryland