ALISE / University of Washington Information School Youth Services Graduate Student Travel Award

Previous Recipients

This award supports costs associated with participation in the ALISE Annual Conference.


Thank you to the generous support of the University of Washington iSchool for sponsoring the award.



Award Criteria

  • This award is open to students currently enrolled (at the time of the ALISE conference) in an LIS graduate program (including both doctoral and master’s studies) with a concentration in youth services, broadly defined to include materials and library/information services for children and young adults in both everyday life and library settings
  • Applicants must be members of ALISE
  • Applicants must be members of the Youth Services SIG
  • Applicants must be actively participating in the ALISE conference (e.g., presenting a poster or a paper, serving as a member of a panel, interviewing for a faculty position)

Nomination Requirements

Interested graduate students should submit an application (upload as a single PDF) that must include:

  • A letter (no more than one page, single-spaced) describing the individual’s interest and work in the youth services area
  • Evidence of participation (or submission to participate) in the upcoming conference (e.g., poster/paper/panel acceptance/application)
  • A current CV

Submission Process

Submit award nominations/applications online. Once the platform is selected, a link will be provided during the submission period (generally made available by early January if not sooner).

Submission Deadline

The submission deadline is March 15, 2022.

Committee Membership

  • Applications will be adjudicated by a panel consisting of three members of the Youth Services SIG:
    • Natalie Greene Taylor, 2020-2021 Co-chair
    • Rachel Magee, 2020-2021 Co-chair
    • Abigail Phillips, 2020-2021 Co-chair
  • Committee members are selected and coordinated by the current year’s SIG chair(s)
  • The Committee reports to the Director, Community Building

Previous Recipients

2021 - Kerry Townsend, University of Missouri
2020 - No award issued
2019 - Kristie Escobar, Florida State University
2018 - Elizabeth Mills, University of Washington
2017 - Sarah Barriage, Rutgers University
2016 - Cass Mabbott, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2015 - Rachel Magee, Drexel University
2014 - Natalie Greene Taylor, University of Maryland
2013 - Karla Lucht, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2012 - Robin Fogle Kurz, University of South Carolina
2011 - Lucia Cedeira Serantes, University of Western Ontario
2010 - Minjie Chen, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2009 - Eric Meyers, University of Washington