Filtered by tag: 2022 Remove Filter

40 Years of ALISE Statistics Released

Since 1980, ALISE has collected and reported data annually about the state of library and information science education across the US and Canada. The annual "ALISE Statistical Report" provides stakeholders with detailed data concerning library and information science (LIS) faculty and staff, students, curriculum, income and expenditures, and continuing education activities. While the means and mechanisms of data collection and reporting that underlie this annual effort have evolved -- from handwritten to electronic, paper to spreadsheet -- the foundational data elements remained remarkably consistent over this forty-year period.

To commemorate the 40th year of data collection, the research team compiled datasets as a service to the ALISE members and research community for its use.

Read More

ALISE Redesigns and Relaunches Leadership Academy in 2022

ALISE Redesigns and Relaunches Leadership Academy in 2022

ALISE redesigned its Leadership Academy in 2022 through the work of its Programming Committee. The redesigned event features a series of five webinars throughout 2022. The webinars are free to members. The Academy will culminate with an in-person workshop immediately following ALISE’s 2022 Annual Conference in Pittsburgh, PA.

In 2019, ALISE initiated the Leadership Academy to create communities within library and information science (LIS) for the exploration of leadership roles as chairs, directors, and deans. We aim to build interest in leadership and to build the confidence of prospective leaders. The Academy also provides prior attendees a forum to reconvene, to reflect on their learnings from the past year, and to gain new insights to deploy in the future.

Read More

Revised Personal Membership Dues Structure to Launch January 1, 2022

ALISE Revises Personal Membership Dues Structure, Launches January 1, 2022

In 2021, the ALISE Board of Directors and its membership approved a proposal presented by the Membership Committee to create a tiered dues structure based on World Bank Gross National Income (GNI) data. The committee’s proposal was informed by research conducted by prior ALISE task forces formed to research international dues rates and by the committee’s environmental scan of similarly oriented membership-based associations. The tiered fee structure for personal memberships becomes effective January 1, 2022.

The revised dues structure provides a more equitable fee structure for individuals located in countries with GNI per capita at or below $24,999.00 USD. In addition, the structure provides greater opportunity for information professionals outside of North America to engage in the association through reduced rates for those in Tier 2 or Tier 3 countries. The ALISE 2021-2025 Strategic Plan includes specific objectives and strategies to increase international membership (Strategy 2.2.6) and to make ALISE welcoming and inclusive of people and program from countries outside of the U.S. and Canada (Objective 2.5). The tiered dues structure is a single, albeit significant, step to enable a more global presence and engagement within ALISE.

Read More

Council of Deans, Directors, and Program Chairs Elects 2021-2022 Co-chairs

2021-2022 Council Co-chairs Elected, Terms Begin September 24, 2021

The ALISE Council of Deans, Directors, and Program Chairs elected three co-chairs for the 2021-2022 term. Dr. Anthony Chow (San Jose State University), Dr. Raj Dewan (Syracuse University), and Dr. Sanda Erdelez (Simmons University) assume their roles on September 24, 2021, at the end of the 2021 Council meeting.

Thank you to Dr. Kimiz Dalkir (McGill University) and Dr. James Elmborg (University of Alabama) as the complete their terms as the 2020-2021 co-chairs. Drs. Dalkir and Elmborg shall lead the 2021 Council meeting on September 24, 2021.

Read More